Tech Magic

image

iconset    I love technology.  In fact, a lot of my friends ask me for tech help when they are stumped or something isn’t working correctly.  What they don’t know, is that secretly I do not know what I am doing—I just get lucky!  Technology often baffles me.  I press some random buttons, step to the side and Google random phrases relating to the malfunctioning device, and cross my fingers.  And sometimes it magically works!  For example, my parents’ treadmill was dead with no apparent explanation, but when I Googled it I found a secret button and got it working once again–and confirmed my reputation as a tech wizard (at least with Mom and Dad)!

What I love most about technology is the magic.  It’s delightfully fun when electronic surprises happen!  I had that experience today in my car.  I haven’t quite learned all the features available since replacing my vehicle, but it’s been especially fun playing with the audio system.  My little car didn’t have all these fun little knobs, buttons, and input options that make my car karaoke performances so much more interesting!  I love using my iPod connection to keep my best soundtracks at my fingertips.  I really only plug it in for longer trips, though.  On the short drive to school, I usually am content with singing along to whatever is on the radio.  I must have hit some funny buttons today, though, because on my way to school this morning I was treated to some beautiful music.  My stereo system wasn’t set to “radio”, however.  It was a different code on the display that I didn’t recognize.  What I DID recognize was the music!  It was a “Piano Guys” song, one of my favorites.  I was fascinated to think that somehow my car had learned my music tastes and was playing songs to me all on its own.  Tech magic!

A few blocks later, I realized that there had to be a more reasonable  explanation.  I thought through some possibilities and realized that somehow the car was playing music that I had stored on my phone.  I have no idea how my car and my phone made friends and conspired together to play me beautiful music on my way to work, but I decided not to question the tech magic and just enjoy it.  I sure hope they are still friends tomorrow!

 

 

4 comments

  1. franmcveigh · March 3, 2016

    So LOVE this . . . ” I have no idea how my car and my phone made friends and conspired together to play me beautiful music on my way to work, but I decided not to question the tech magic and just enjoy it. I sure hope they are still friends tomorrow!”

    Can’t wait to see what’s next!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Erika Victor · March 4, 2016

    Technology is often magic in so many ways. I think lots of the success is based on the bravery you have to just try things out. I love your conspiracy theory!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kristi Lonheim (@lonheim) · March 4, 2016

    The magic of BlueTooth! 🙂

    I love that you have found the wonders of Google searches have turned you magic. Thanks for sharing the wonder of life with us as you notice the magical moments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

