Lost in a Complicated Way

imageI have a reputation for getting lost easily.  I joke with my friends that I still use my GPS to find my way in the town I’ve called home for the past 20 years, but I’m not really kidding!   I can picture my destination clearly in my mind’s eye.  I KNOW where it is!   It’s just that the surrounding streets and the route are always very fuzzy.

I also have trouble making good decisions when I know I am lost.  I always think I know how to get the route untangled, but I almost always go the opposite direction that I should and stubbornly continue well after I should have turned around.  It just FEELS right, so it must BE right!  I have been known to ignore the slightly irritated GPS voice who is clearly telling me to “recalculate”, because I’m quite sure that I know better.  I follow my imaginary route much longer than it should take to realize that I’m wrong and lost once again.

Today I turned just a little bit too early for the movie theater and ended up in line at a bank ATM.  That is a perfect example of the very complicated manner in which I so often lose my way.  For a moment I was afraid there was no way out, but fortunately it all turned out fine in the end.  I didn’t even need to get out the GPS!  I don’t think it would have worked in the bank parking lot anyway…

It’s always a good thing when I make it back to my own driveway.  Some days it is more of a miracle than it really ought to be.

 

6 comments

  1. Brooke Kinsman · March 6, 2016

    Thank goodness it isn’t just us. I can just picture you turning a little too soon…looking out to where you were SUPPOSED to turn…I can picture it so well because I have done it a million times!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendy · March 6, 2016

    I don’t get lost, but I do tend to take…inefficient routes. Glad you made it home!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. writintime · March 6, 2016

    Hahaha, think of it as forging a new path rather than lost. I have learned from my husband to notice the things around me while I drive, it really helps when you want to get someplace again.

    Like

  4. Erika Victor · March 6, 2016

    Oh, I can so relate! In my mother’s family I am a star at navigating, but compared to the general public- nope! One thing I loved about living in berlin was that no matter how lost I was I knew that I would soon come upon a bus or subway stop and then I could hop on and work my way home. It is a part of why I do not drive here. Ah well, always new ways!

    Like

  5. Kristi Lonheim (@lonheim) · March 6, 2016

    Love this line, “Some days it is more of a miracle than it really ought to be.” Glad you can smile about it and at least have a GPS, though it sounds like choosing to use it could be another matter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. franmcveigh · March 6, 2016

    Kathy,
    I finally asked my son to “turn the lady off” on my GPS so that I only have the visual. There is a limit to how many times I can listen to “re-calculating. My difficulty is in often “turning too soon” – the street before my destination as in 200 ft. or yards or whatever the math was looked like it was closer than it was. We have learned to think about all the “fun adventures” that we have. Sometimes there are short cuts . . . but always adventures!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

