It’s a Gift

imageI hate wrapping presents.

I can’t cut the paper in a straight line.  Sometimes I cut it too short to wrap around the box and waste a whole piece.  Most of the time I overcompensate in fear of cutting it too short and have way too much paper.  Then it’s lumpy.  I don’t usually have the right tape, so it shows when it should be invisible.  I use too much tape.  I try to stuff paper under other parts of paper and then tape it down.  No matter where I put tape, it’s lumpy.  I’m hopeless at bows.  I don’t have the right kind of ribbon, but it doesn’t matter because I can’t make the right kind of ribbon look pretty.  My card doesn’t match the paper.  The bow goes lopsided.  I hate wrapping presents.

I love giving presents.

There is a sweet challenge in finding just the right gift that will make someone smile.  The anticipation of a good reaction sets the stage for delight.  Gifts for no reason.  Gifts for a special reason.  The joy of seeing something in a store that is just right for a friend.  The fun of thinking of a very personal and unique sort of gift that you KNOW no one else has thought of.  The sound of the paper ripping from the box brings a big smile to both of our faces.  Sometimes there is even a big gasp of surprise when the contents are revealed!  The glance over to the giver with a smile of thanks brings the moment full circle.

It’s the gift that matters, not the package.  It is a gift to be able to give just the right present and light up the face of someone special.  It’s the giving itself that then lights up the heart of the giver.

image

 

4 comments

  1. beckymusician · March 21, 2016

    It is so wonderful when you find that gift that you know someone will love. When they say, “How did you know I would love this?” In August I found the perfect gift for my daughter’s boyfriend. I made sure to mail it in time so it would get to his summer address by his birthday. The package went astray, it took weeks to come back to me, then I mailed it to his NEW address in a different state. Even a month late, he loved it! (It was a literary t-shirt with James Joyce on it.)

    Like

  2. MaryHill · March 21, 2016

    So true. The package doesn’t have to be perfect when there is lots of love inside.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kristi Lonheim (@lonheim) · March 21, 2016

    It is a sweet challenge! You capture the joy of giving a well thought out gift, just as well as you capture you annoyance with having to wrap them. (And gift bags are great.)

    Like

  4. Erika Victor · March 21, 2016

    I HATE wrapping too and whenever possible pass off that chore to someone else and go for gift bags whenever that is not possible. Once upon a time I got a job at a toy store and I lasted one day, as I found out that wrapping was part of the job (I quit!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

