Wi-fi What-a-Mess

imageSpring Break!

Driving off, places to go.

Happy plans.

A text message while on the way…

“The Internet is down.  It’s been down all day.  It’s not going to be fixed tonight.  You’ll need to make other plans for your blog.”

YOU’LL NEED TO MAKE OTHER PLANS…

Panic.

Think.

Panic again.

There has to be a way.  Just figure it out.

What if the whole TOWN is down?

Sending text messages…asking questions…considering places.

Maybe McDonalds?

No answers yet.  Time passing.  Driving on.  Remaining very calm and optimistic.

Actually, still panicking.

Almost there.  No answers yet.

One block away, the message comes.  A sweet, generous neighbor will have her porch lights on for me and her computer turned on.

Big sigh of relief!  Whew!   Get a grip.  Everything is fine.

Now…what part of my day shall I write about?

Lol…

6 comments

  1. aruddteacher100 · March 22, 2016

    Wow, last year about this time, the very same thing happened! It was all the Squirrels’ fault! Chewed off insulation on cable line out at the box…I went to Panera. I started freaking out because I worried about how to get my slicing done…I gave up and quit. Last night it happened again. Our service went down. I worried that we were experiencing déjà vu… Today it was ok!

    Like

  2. Kristi Lonheim (@lonheim) · March 22, 2016

    So funny how our priorities add one thing in March. Glad you knew ahead of time, rather than being at home at 11:40 pm and expecting to get it done.

    Like

  3. Erika Victor · March 22, 2016

    I am actually stressed about posting next week while on break. I did not want to take my computer with me, but I can not imagine linking my students’ blogs to a blog that I post on the SOLCC via phone or iPad. My own post I figure I could knock out that way, but with my students…
    Glad you had a helpful neighbor and a plan B.

    Like

  4. Fran · March 22, 2016

    I’ve had a computer issue or two every day for a week so I definitely feel your panic. One computer won’t show the url line so how can you copy and paste that into the call for slices when it isn’t visible. No help from ask google either. Guess it will take “Ask Jon” when he comes back from spring break! ick!

    Like

    • kathyschuitema · March 23, 2016

      Let me know what “Ask Jon” says because I have the same trouble! I write on my iPad, but have to go to my laptop to copy and paste. Good thing we are both finding ways to get our slices accomplished!

      Like

  5. beckymusician · March 22, 2016

    I feel your panic, too! We had a 6-hour power outage last week and so the Internet was down, too. We were discussing going to a Starbucks when the lights came back on. Saved!

    Like

Leave a Reply

