The Night Before The End of Spring Break

imageHere it is again, the night before school starts after spring break.  What a curious mixture of sadness and anticipation it brings!  It was wonderful to have a whole week of vacation away from school, and each day was filled with a combination of relaxation and activity.  There were chances to visit with friends and time to stay up late at night reading.  There were no deadlines (well, except for the blog challenge), no schedules (well, except for the days we were out and about), and no paperwork (well, except for the bookwork I helped my Grandma with).

WAIT A MINUTE!  I NEED A BREAK FROM MY BREAK!

It seems like there is never enough time to do all the things I envision doing while off from school.  I packed a bag of books, a pile of piano music to play, a cross-stitch project, and even a puzzle to put together. None of those things even made it out of the car.  On the other hand, my days were filled with lunches out, shopping with my mom, catching up with family, and running errands for myself while in my hometown.  It was a wonderful break.

Now, as I am packing my lunch for tomorrow and getting my school bag in order, my mind is getting back into “school mode”.  I’m anxious to see all the kids in my two schools and hear their stories about break.  I’m looking forward to the hugs and smiles as they come back together and are excited to see their friends and teachers again.  It will be wonderful to be outside for recess with nicer weather again, and it will be great to catch up on the news with my teacher friends.  It’s time for Spring Break to be over…but the springtime fun is just beginning as we jump into the last two months of the school year.  We have a lot to do, and this is a time of year to be enjoyed!

With that good attitude in mind…I guess I’ll go see if I can dig out my lunch bag.

 

5 comments

  1. mettamusic · March 28, 2016

    Sounds like you really enjoyed your break. Your description of returning has me energized as well! Maybe the summer will allow you to catch up on that reading & those projects

    Like

  2. kristalee11 · March 28, 2016

    Yes, indeed!
    You captured it! This is precisely the story of us all (certainly ME) on the night before the 1st day back. Well sliced!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kristi Lonheim (@lonheim) · March 28, 2016

    Staying up late at night reading, that was me last night. I must be on break officially now. I, too, always envision being able to do more projects / tasks than I actually accomplish. I often end up spending a chunk of time just ‘being’ instead of doing.

    Like

  4. Erika Victor · March 28, 2016

    Sounds like your break was really just what you needed it to be. I always overestimate what I will get done over break. I am just finishing up day 3, so 6 more to go. I hope day 1 back was great!

    Like

  5. beckymusician · March 29, 2016

    It sounds like a very good spring break. It always seems to go that way, though – you have all these plans to be productive and then life springs up at you and you do something else. Have a happy “back to school”!

    Like

Leave a Reply

