A Stitch in Time…

imageI know my One Little Word for this year is “grace”, but there are a couple of other words that are currently nagging me.  Actually, they are aggressively tormenting me!

It’s all because of my latest cross-stitch project.  I love to cross-stitch, but I rarely take time to do it.  It’s probably more accurate to say that I love to pick out beautiful cross-stitch projects, buy the fabric and threads, and…think about how nice it would be to finish them.  However, this time is different.  I had the idea to cross-stitch something special for someone dear to me who is getting married this fall.  It’s the perfect gift for many reasons, and I found a pattern that is just right.

But here’s the thing—I’m going to have to DO it!  And it has a deadline!

So I started.  I love the moment when I take this lovely piece of fabric, thread the needle, count to the starting place, and start pulling the threads through to make a beginning of something beautiful.  I loaded up a great movie, put my feet up, plugged in my magnifier AND put on my reading glasses, and started stitching.

Two and a half hours later I realized I had started with the wrong color.

How disappointing!  How frustrating!  But there was no other option–I had to pull out all the thread I had stitched and start from the beginning again.  I grumbled.  I walked away for awhile.  But then I got it ripped out and loaded my needle with the correct color, ready to start again the following day.

This time, after checking and double checking my color, I spent almost four hours once again stitching the large letter “O” in the word “HOME”.  I counted and recounted.  I used magnets to mark my progress on the pattern.  I watched another great movie.

And after that four hours realized that I had made a huge counting mistake.  In the fourth row.

This time I didn’t take it quite so well.  I was a bad sport.  I stomped around.  I was nasty about it.  I was angry, frustrated, then despondent.  Almost seven hours worth of work, down the drain!

(Here’s where I have to give a shout-out to my mom, who offered to do the “ripping out” part for me because she could tell I was going to have a meltdown.  She saved the project, no lie.)

I let a little time pass before starting again, but finally I was brave enough (and looking at the deadline enough) to get back to work.  I gave the letter “O” in the pattern the stink eye and counted again.  And again.  AND AGAIN!  And I stitched around it…all the way around it.

When I got within two rows of closing the “O”, I couldn’t resist counting ahead to see if I was going to come out in the correct spot.

I almost can’t even type about it anymore…

I was half a stitch off.  It was wrong, and I had no idea where the mistake was.

I wisely walked away and left the house for a little while.

After I had calmed down and said a little prayer for peace and ease in finding the error, I started looking over my “O”.  Thankfully, the mistake was only two rows up from where I had stopped.  I pulled a few threads out, adjusted for the mistake, and managed to close the “O”.

Lessons learned…perseverance, maintaining good humor, and LOOK CLOSELY WHILE COUNTING!  I guess some of it boils down to “grace” after all.

Now on to the other letters…wish me luck. I think I’m going to need it!

image

 

 

3 comments

  1. newtreemom · July 6, 2016

    You described it so well. I’ve been there.

    Like

  2. jarhartz · July 6, 2016

    Oh my gosh! I don’t think I could have done it. What resilience, perseverance and grace. It will be a lovely piece.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kathyschuitema · July 6, 2016

      Thank you! I hope the rest of it doesn’t cause so much trouble! (I still have a lot of work to do on accepting defeat gracefully…)

      Like

Leave a Reply

