Alarm(ed)

imageI just needed a few quiet moments to close my eyes after a long day at school.  I settled in my favorite chair, set the timer on my phone for ten minutes, took a deep breath, and leaned back for a rest.  It felt wonderful.

I’m not sure what startled me awake after only a few minutes, but it was enough to break the spell.  I reluctantly gave up and pulled out my schoolbag full of math papers to check.  And so the night passed…

Fast forward to the appalling hour of 4:30 am.  I have jumped out of bed and am standing bewildered in the dark hallway, mostly still asleep but more than a little panicked. A loud, sparkly tune is echoing through the house, relentlessly.  Is someone breaking in?  (With a harmonica??). Are my wind chimes possessed?  Have the crickets in the basement banded together and learned an insane repeating melody?  WHAT IS HAPPENING HERE??

As I slowly gather my senses, I realize the sound is coming from the kitchen.   I find my way in the dark and see that my phone is blinking brightly on the table.  The alarm is insistently ringing…

I set my nap timer for 10 HOURS instead of 10 minutes.

Sometimes I am my own biggest challenge…

 

 

2 comments

  1. Lisa Bishop · September 21

    Ohhhh how this made me laugh! The thought of the harmonica bandit…. Or a band of crickets (or crickets banding together) Still chuckling!

    >

    Like

  2. Peg Frushour · September 21

    What a hoot! I love reading your blogs!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

