Chicken and Fries

imageThe best Small Moment story of the week has yet to be written, but the whole class is encouraging their friend to write it down.  After all, he had our full attention when he finally told us why he was so mad.

He came in that morning with the biggest scowl on his face.  He stormed around the room, signing in for lunch, tossing his backpack and winter coat onto the closet floor.  He didn’t speak to anyone, and no one dared approach him.

I gave him a few minutes and then asked what was wrong.

“I’m SO MAD at my sister,” was all I could get from him.

His foul mood stayed put for the entire day.  His usual infectious laughter was absent from the classroom.  But as the day unfolded, we got a few more clues about what had happened the night before. Finally, just before we all went home he told us the whole story.

“My dad took me to Taco John’s and I got my own bag of chicken and fries.  When I got home my mom told me I had to take my shower, so I hid my bag under my bed because my little sister would want it and she is scared of under my bed.  When I got out of the shower and went into my room, her feet were sticking out and she had eaten ALL of my chicken and fries!”

At first, his friends were shocked.  And outraged on his behalf.  But then one started to giggle…and before long everyone was laughing–even the injured party.  Someone said “You should have put it up higher because she’s short!” And that made us laugh all the harder.

It’s true–time heals all wounds.  And soon my offended, angry little guy will be able to write the funny story of the night his little sister stole his chicken and fries right out from under his very scary bed.  And hopefully someone will soon take him back to Taco John’s for another order…

 

4 comments

  1. teachworkoutlove · December 14

    Amazing story !!!!!!! Gotta love it

    Like

  2. Kristi Lonheim (@lonheim) · December 14

    Glad he was able to see the humor in it. What a fun story for him to write!

    Like

  3. Adrienne · December 14

    I was a little sister and LOVE this story.

    Like

  4. franmcveigh · December 21

    We had no beds that we could crawl under so we also did not have to CLEAN under them . . . this is similar to my brother’s complaint about “only one-half of a sandwich at McDonald’s”! Take out food was always a treat! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

