Shady Shades

imageI’ve blogged in the past about my troubling relationship with my favorite pair of sunglasses.  I bought them while travelling to visit my cousin in Virginia, and I love wearing them.  However, I lose them regularly!  I have left them in some interesting places–the back seat of a friend’s car, on the shelf at TJ Maxx, and on the last pew in the back of the church sanctuary.  But each and every time I have managed to get them back.  Sometimes it has been easy to retrace my steps, but other times there has been a frantic recovery effort involved.  I have always felt, though, that leaving them somewhere has been due to my own carelessness or distraction.

Now I’m not sure.  Am I subconsciously trying to get rid of them?  Are THEY desperately trying to escape from ME?  Today, while carrying a few items out to the garage, I put the plastic into my car and recycled my sunglasses.

 

5 comments

  1. Shana Karnes · March 5

    Ahhhh!!! Were you able to retrieve them!?!? I once lost my favorite pair of sunglasses in…the ocean. Needless to say, I didn’t manage to get them back. I still mourn them, 15 years later!!

    Like

  2. JudyK · March 5

    Haaaaa! So funny! I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who does such things! ~JudyK

    Like

  3. franmcveigh · March 5

    Oh, NO! Not good! When it’s a favorite pair that fits just right, looks good, and includes some specific memories, the sunglasses just seem to want to have their own independent adventure! Silly sunglasses! 🙂

    Like

  4. merlinette78 · March 5

    as the saying goes, if you love someone (thing) let them go and if they come back you know it’s meant to be. Maybe in the reincarnation of your sunglasses they will return.

    Like

  5. Torrey · March 5

    I think like you could write a great children’s book about the adventures of your disappearing sunglasses! I bet it would be fun, whimsical, and hilarious…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

