Storm’s Coming…

It’s been brewing since yesterday.  The skies are grey and the winds are rising.  The air feels warmish and a little sticky.  You can tell that something is going to blow up.

Finally the radar tells the tale.  An long, snaking line of storms is crossing the entire state.  It looks like a rocky night is in store, at least until that wave passes.  Somehow, once it gets dark outside the howling wind sounds worse.  The anticipation of the storm is almost worse than the storm itself.

While I am waiting for the storm to hit, I’m writing and thinking about all different kinds of storms that are swirling tonight.  It seems to be stormy in almost every facet of my life–personal, professional, as a citizen of my state and my country.  The alarm sirens are blowing, and my fears are growing.

As the storms roll in, I’m learning some important lessons.  There are ways to prepare myself, and it isn’t unlike what I do to prepare my Tornado Closet in my basement.  It’s also very helpful to educate myself and learn as much as I can about what I am dealing with.  (This is how I learned about bow echoes on the radar!)  And it helps immensely to ride out the storm alongside other people–some who are just as spooked as I am, and some who remain calm and lead the way.

The most important thing to remember about storms is that they don’t last forever.  A storm might have a lasting impact, but inevitably after a big one people come together to restore what was broken.  And often, there is some kind of rainbow.

I don’t think I’ll see a rainbow after the storm that is barreling down on me at the moment (since it is after 8pm and inky black outside), but there certainly will be a sense of peace once it passes!  I’ll look forward to that…but in the meantime I may go downstairs and sit just a little bit closer to my Tornado Closet.

 

 

3 comments

  1. lsmith0917 · March 7

    Ugh-I hate storms!! However, I love how you connected your thoughts so beautifully. Here’s hoping your evening continues to be relatively uneventful and the sun is shining bright tomorrow in all areas of your day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. litcoach64 · March 7

    We are in the same boat here in Missouri! Here’s hoping the storms miss you!!! Great analogies to life!

    Like

  3. Leigh Anne · March 7

    I will be awaiting this storm’s arrival in the early morning hours. Be safe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

