Don’t Tempt Me

imageIt was an unexpected challenge.  I was on an errand to buy gift cards at Dairy Queen.  It was one more item to cross off a long to-do list, so I was focused on the job at hand rather than the place it took me to.  Until I had to stand in line and wait…

I will preface this part by declaring that I am not allowed (by my own design) very many sweet things to eat.  I have to limit my carbs, and I keep a pretty strict count of them.  Although it seems like temptation is everywhere, I keep a lid on my cravings by getting a nice bite of something here and there, usually dark chocolate.  However, once in awhile I am taken by surprise and it is a lot harder to quiet the little voice in my head that is clamoring for a treat.

That’s what happened today.  There I was, just standing in line, patiently waiting at Dairy Queen.  In front of me was an elderly gentleman who seemed to have a complex order, so it was taking awhile.  To pass the time, I started “reading the room”.  I avoided the giant menu for awhile, but finally that’s all that was left to look at.  I don’t hardly ever go to Dairy Queen, so it was interesting to see all the sandwiches and sides they offered.  That was all fine–it wasn’t until I hit the second panel that my good mood started to wane.

Ice cream cones–I used to go with my grandparents for a Dairy Queen vanilla ice cream cone dipped in chocolate.  That was nice to remember.  The Blizzards didn’t tempt me so much.  I don’t think I’ve ever had one, since I always chose a milkshake instead.  Oh…there were the milkshakes.  And remember the Dilly Bars?  All of a sudden it seemed like the delightful ice-cream smell in the lobby got a little stronger.

And then I saw it.  “Hot Fudge-Filled Chocolate Chip Cookie served a la mode”.

WHAT??

I almost had to leave!  That sounded so good, and the picture of it was almost more than I could take.  Danger, danger!  Thankfully, it was soon my turn and I could grab the gift cards and make a fast getaway.  But now I can’t forget the idea of that hot fudgy cookie with the cold soft serve ice cream…

I am going to need to find a friend to take me to Dairy Queen and order one of those…and share a few bites with me!

 

6 comments

  1. mbhmaine · March 25

    The beauty of sharing treats is that people think you’re generous but you’re really avoiding calories 😉 I’m a fan of DQ Blizzards myself but that chocolate chip treat sounds pretty tempting!

    Like

  2. Embekka · March 25

    Very cute post! Sounds good and I am not even a sweet eater.

    Like

  3. Raivenne · March 25

    Yes, get a friend to share it with you and give in to this little bit before it turns into a monster. It does sound really good, alas I am not near a Dairy Queen.

    Like

  4. fireflytrails · March 25

    Great post. Now I am hungry for ice cream! (OK I am always hungry for ice cream – but your descriptions of current treats and happy memories are so very good!)

    Like

  5. Morgan · March 25

    I love how you control the pace of this post. Your long lingering sentences drift through the room , your memories in the menu, etc. Then, as your will power starts to wane, your sentences become short and snappy (Danger! Danger!). Well done. It shows all the intricacies of your experience through and between your words!

    Like

  6. MAK · March 25

    I have the fondest memories of Dairy Queen from when I was a kid. And I was right there with you today, trying to resist!

    Like

Leave a Reply

