So Squirrely…

imageimageHe was there again today, just like every day.  This time he was on the ground.  Sometimes he is in the middle of my path and other times he is already up in the tree.

He’s my little squirrel playmate.  Or my vicious squirrel stalker.  I’m not really sure yet.

Today we had a game of peek-a-boo.  He dashed around the back of the tree and then hid for a few moments.  Before long, his curiosity got the better of him and he peeked around the trunk at me.  Usually I just keep walking, but this time it was too tempting to see what he would do.  I stood completely still and just waited.  He peeked around one side, then frantically pulled back to hide once more.  In a few seconds, his squirrely little face peeked around the other side.  The longer I stood, the more he could not resist the peeking and hiding game.

Before long, he dashed up to reach the first branches overhead.  He picked a sturdy branch to perch on and froze, staying just as still as I did.  When I didn’t react, he went a little higher and tried the same staredown tactics.  He seemed to be more than a little agitated at this point, but he also didn’t want to go off to his squirrely life work while I was still standing at his tree staring at him.

The final straw for me was when he ventured out a little further on a higher branch. Suddenly I had a vision of a kamikaze flying jump that would result in a squirrel plastered to my head and I decided to move on with a little speed.

Well played, squirrel.  I’ll be back tomorrow.

image

One comment

  1. karpenglish · April 1

    This is a great post! I work from home, and some days, I spend a lot of time watching the squirrels in the big tree and along the fence outside of the window next to my desk. Some days, they spend a lot of time watching me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

