The Battle of the Bin

imageIt happens every time.  I know the temptation, and tell myself that this time will be different.  I have the willpower to resist.  I can just walk away.  There are many logical, rational reasons that bounce through my brain louder and louder as I approach.  And without fail, my resolve falters and before I know it, I am elbow-deep…

in the bargain movie bin at WalMart.

Here’s how it happens.  I approach with my cart, ready to slide right past the display. Yes, I see the big $9.99 sale sign–but I don’t have extra money to spend on nonsense and I am strong enough to not even look.  I own WAY too many DVDs already.  Besides, I want to finish up my shopping list and get right out the door, on to better things.

But then I see it…in the random chaos of DVDs in the bin, one very sweet title that I cannot believe is actually there.  In the SALE BIN.  ON SALE.  And that’s all it takes.  I swipe that plastic case up and stick it in the cart without another rational thought.  And then I think “Well, if THAT is in here what ELSE is here as well??”

At first I am methodical.  I try to excavate in a certain area all the way to the bottom of the bin (because surely if there are treasures, they are at the bottom of the bin).  I try to stack the excess DVDs to the right, then to the left while I dig my hole, but soon my piles begin to collapse.  With visions of an noisy avalanche, I quickly abandon the organized approach and start digging in every direction.

After some time, I become aware that I am seeing the same titles over and over, and I start to regain my sanity.  This is ridiculous!  I have better things to…WAIT!!  Is that “My Three Sons” from the 70’s???  WOW!  I had better keep looking!  What else is hiding in here!  Do they have ALL the seasons of “Little House on the Prairie” do you think??

Finally my frantic digging slows and I realize that once again I have succumbed to the black magic of the sale DVD bin.  I check my cart and find a tossed assortment of random DVDs that seemed essential just a few minutes ago.  As I get my equilibrium back and start evaluating my choices, most of them go back into the bin.  A couple are tough to put back, but if I am really honest with myself, I know I can find those shows easily online and don’t need to own them on DVD.  I release my grip on the last set–“The Waltons:  Season One” and push my cart away with resolve.

I give in to my disappointment by allowing myself some pretty pens to use at school–then decide it is time to check out and leave.  I push my cart back in the direction of the bin, almost without thinking.  I try to speed up, but it’s no use–I scoop up “The Waltons” (which I left in a sweet spot at the very top of a stack) with one hand and head for the front of the store.  And a moment later, with a grim look on my face, I whip right back around and toss John Boy and his television family back into the bin.  For heavens’ sake, “The Waltons” is on tv four times a day in the summer!

I have conquered the Bargain DVD Bin once again…but I know the very next time I will face the same battle.  Let’s just hope someone else has taken home “The Waltons” by that time.  Or at the very least, hidden it down at the bottom for someone else to dig out and find.

 

4 comments

  1. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski · April 26

    This was so funny and well-written! I love how you “exploded the moment” of a shopping trip, and the way you talk to yourself before and after the dvd sale bin! This would make a fabulous mentor text to share with students.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lisa Corbett · April 26

    That is so funny! I had to stop going to the fabric store for similar reasons. I had, and still have, so much fabric that I will probably never use. I buy it because it is beautiful, not because I have a project in mind. Then I get home and stare at it because it is too pretty to cut up. Luckily I am in recovery for this addiction. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. VanessaVaile · April 26

    Sounds like my partner in movie addiction and I when we are out loose together anywhere there is a bin or sales rack. We enable each other.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

