Promises, Promises

imageThere are times when we take a moment to evaluate our habits, consider changes we need to make, create some sort of plan for doing so, and then resolve to really DO it and work hard to achieve that better lifestyle.

One such time is traditionally New Year’s Day.

But it also happens for me in the dentist’s chair.

“Let me just use this water pick for a bit…”  Eesh!  I promise to try harder…

“Could you tilt your head to the left so I can reach the back with my pointy sharp instrument?”  Yikes!  I promise to do better…

“Just try to relax your lower lip a little…”  OUCH!  I know, flossing is not optional!

I got a clean bill of health from the dentist, along with a new toothbrush and some floss.

But I also left with a head full of promises to myself about all the dental-ish things I could do better so maybe it wouldn’t be quite so…pointy the next time around.

There’s nothing like being captive in a chair with sharp instruments looming above you to make you reevaluate your lifestyle habits quickly and emphatically!

Here’s hoping these resolutions last a little longer than the ones I made on January 1st…

 

 

5 comments

  1. MAK · June 14

    Ah, those moments held captive in a reclined chair wearing sunglasses and watching small tools be used in your mouth. I am always surprised by how stressed I am there. I have to practice my relaxing breathing. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sandy Hamilton · June 14

    I do the same thing when I go to the dentist – my least favorite thing in the world to do!

    Like

  3. Jen Driggers · June 14

    The dentist stresses me out more than anything else and I adore my dentist. Don’t know why. I’m glad I’m not alone!

    Like

  4. VanessaVaile · June 19

    It does say something about the resolution process though

    Like

  5. marilynyung · June 20

    I am so good at flossing that first week after my dental appointment. Then it gradually slacks off. My dentist office is great, but I don’t like the “lectures” about flossing more, or how I should buy a $90 Water-pik. They’re being paid well, so they can just lecture away!

    Like

Leave a Reply

