Springing Forward

imageIt’s today.  I have to remember.  Don’t forget!  Maybe I should just do it now…

It’s time to change the clocks.  This day drives me crazy!  I’m afraid I will forget to do it and somehow find myself down the rabbit hole tomorrow with no idea or assurance of the time.  I agonize over when to do it.  Should I give up my extra hour now?  Should it be when I go to bed?  Do I want to lose an hour of Saturday night movie time or a precious hour of sleep?  The struggle is real.

By this time, the decision is really made for me.  I have procrastinated long enough that I am going to be forced to lose an hour of sleep.  And when it comes down to it, that’s probably what I would have chosen anyway.

Then there is the issue of the self-changing clocks.  The clock on my stereo changes itself, as does my cell phone and tablet.  My computer changes its own clock.  I just wish they would tell me that they have done it!  I need them to send me a little message telling me that they have updated, so I don’t worry!  I can’t trust them until I know they are working with me.

The worrying is the worst.  When my alarm goes off tomorrow morning, I will look at the clock and second-guess it.  I will double check with my phone–but can I trust it?  I will check the Weather Channel on the television for further confirmation.  I will text my mom.  I will need proof from several sources before I trust that the time is actually correct.

I will then spend the day (and possibly part of the week) finding more clocks that I have forgotten to change.  I will have to look up the manual for changing the clock in my car–if I remember correctly, it did not want to cooperate in the fall.  The clock in my basement always gets overlooked.  Happily, I see that the clock up high above in my sink never got changed last fall, so now it will be correct!  But just in case, I had better check…

Daylight Savings Time stresses me out, and it isn’t just because we are losing an hour!

image

 

 

 

5 comments

  1. litcoach64 · March 13, 2016

    Funny!! Totally agree! I have to get several sources to confirm the real time, as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amanda Regan · March 13, 2016

    Your post made me laugh. That is so me! It really is stressful! And I hate giving up an hour of my weekend.

    Like

  3. Vilma Manahan · March 13, 2016

    I thought I am a worrier until I read your worries! Now, I worry more about losing an hour of sleep more than anything else. I put my trust on my phone. But I remember the time where I panicked because of the time on my car. It does change later during the fall and it freaked me out when I was going to work. Is the time change necessary?

    Like

  4. Kristi Lonheim (@lonheim) · March 13, 2016

    So funny! Perhaps you need to move to Arizona or Hawaii or a country that doesn’t observe Daylight Savings Time, then there would be no worry! (My challenge is to remember which country changes when so I am meet virtual appointments and calls.)

    Like

  5. Erika Victor · March 13, 2016

    Ha- I feel the same way plus it takes me about a week for my body to adjust to the new time. Here the clocks do not change, so I just have to adjust to the time difference between here and the time wherever else I have friends. It gets confusing!

    Like

Leave a comment