Chicken Giggles

imageThis is a habit that started in college.  My friends and I would sit in choir rehearsals and shake our heads at the absolutely random (yet often profound) comments that our director would make.  He often didn’t mean to say something funny—it would just come out with an odd bit of phrasing or an unintentional reference that would make it hilarious.  It happened often enough that it became choir tradition to secretly write down his best zingers for posterity.  At the end of the year, when we were road-weary on the bus for choir tour, someone would pass out copies of our collected “Dr. Dave-isms” and soon the whole choir would be howling with laughter.  (Dr.Dave took it all in the best of humor, and would wind up the show on the bus by standing in the aisle and doing his best Count Dracula voice impressions for our amusement.)

Since that time, I have enjoyed the company of several other unintentionally funny people in my life.  And when I am around them and a random comment pops out, when I am able to stop laughing, I add it to my list.  It’s amazing how just pulling up my list on the computer and reading through the notes I’ve saved can bring back that infectious giggle fit and brighten any dull day.

Today’s comment was:  “HEY!  I hypnotized a chicken yesterday…and it worked!”

I mean, who just SAYS that?  But when it happens, it grabs the attention of everyone in the room and gives us a good laugh.  That one makes the list!

We all have lots of funny stories to tell at school about the nutty things that kids say to us—but sometimes it’s also the adults that give us a good laugh during the day.  Keeping a list of the best quotes helps us all revisit those memories and laugh together time and time again.

…and keep your eye out for that hypnotized chicken!

image

 

4 comments

  1. ericamcmo · March 31, 2016

    I love that you keep a list of these quotes. What a great bank to turn to when you need writing ideas too.

    Like

  2. Kristi Lonheim (@lonheim) · March 31, 2016

    Good to know that I need to keep an eye out for that particular chicken! Living and traveling in countries where English is not people’s first language leads to amusing signs. I like to snap pictures, proof of the stuff I couldn’t make up if I tried.

    Like

  3. Erika Victor · March 31, 2016

    Shared memories like the choir trips will keep that community alive in your brain. Good for you to keep your funny list for days when you need a laugh. I sometimes wonder if people like that do it on purpose.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. beckymusician · April 1, 2016

    What great memories! I never would have thought to keep a list of hilarious sayings, but what a good idea!

    Like

Leave a comment