One Little…what?

imageBig decision, small decision…maybe deciding not to decide?  No, I want to decide.  It’s time to decide!  How will I ever decide?

Now that the new year has begun, I need to choose the One Little Word that will influence my little corner of the world—my approach to teaching, my professional and personal relationships, and my own introspective thoughts and reactions.  That is a big job for a little word, but it is an important one all the same.  I learned this year the impact that choosing a word that influenced my thoughts and actions could have.

My word this year was Grace.  My goal in choosing this word (or letting it choose me…) was in working to act and react with grace toward others and in all situations.  I know it did come through as a significant One Little Word for me because I caught myself countless times and reminded myself to act with grace.  Not only that, but my eyes were opened to the multitude of examples of grace all around me in the actions and reactions of others.

This year feels very different.  My hope is that I can continue to see grace in others and act with it myself, but now I know I need a word with more strength.  There are tough times ahead, and I need to be equipped.  I need to know how to respond to adversity.  I need to be able to stand up for myself and for others in a way that my voice is heard.  None of that comes easily to me, so I need a word that will reflect that challenge and encourage me.  I’ve seen lots of good examples in the OLW’s that others have chosen, and they are inspiring me greatly…but I haven’t hit on just the right word for myself yet.

Courage. Speak. Rise. Truth.  Work.  Defend.  All good contenders.  Or Faith.  Hope.  Give.  If I don’t get with the program, I will have to choose something like “Clueless” or “Indecisive”!   Remember when we thought we could outsmart the “three wishes” rule by making the third wish a wish for infinite wishes?  I need infinite words!

The right word will resonate with me, and I will know it when it happens.  I hope it hurries up a little bit, though!  Hmmm…maybe it will be “Patience”?

I introduced this idea of choosing a One Little Word to my students this morning.  They were excited about the idea and of course wanted to name their word immediately.  I had to convince them that it needed a little more time and consideration.  I think some of them might have wanted to choose “Eat”, and more than one were a fan of “Jump”…so I told them we would talk again soon and see where they were with their own words.  They are very curious about what I will pick.

Wait…”curiousity”.  That’s an interesting idea for a OLW.

One of these years my OLW is going to be “decide”, I just know it.  Clearly I need some intensive work on my ability to make decisions.  But for now…I’m taking a little more space to think about my OLW.  All I know is…it’s got to be a good one.  It’s going to be tested often in the coming days and weeks.

 

5 comments

  1. teachworkoutlove · January 4, 2017

    Good luck ! It was not easy!

    Like

  2. mayawoodall · January 4, 2017

    Your blog makes me laugh. I could follow your indecision and could totally relate. So many great words, but what should your one word be? Good luck!

    Like

  3. franmcveigh · January 4, 2017

    You will know your word at the right time because it will literally be there and you will say, “of course” or “what was I thinking?” NO Rush! It’s worth waiting for the word that will be your touchstone for a year!

    Like

  4. Adrienne · January 4, 2017

    When that word emerges, you will know. The pursuit of the word can be as fun and interesting as what you do with it.

    Like

  5. Lisa Keeler · January 4, 2017

    Your wrestling comes through clearly in your voice in this piece. Good luck finding your word.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment