What a Show!

imageI led my class down the hallway with a smile.  The kids had picked up on my excitement on the way to the assembly.  I tried to prepare them a little bit for what they were about to see, because many second graders had no idea what a “show choir” could possibly be.  So I had put up a YouTube clip of our school’s group singing and dancing at a competition just to give them an idea.  Even so, I could tell they had no idea what a treat was in store for them.

As the high school performers took their places and waited for the music to start, I searched for familiar faces.  I always love watching the show choir, but it makes it even more fun when there are kids I know that I can enjoy watching in particular.  I spotted several kids and then was surprised and delighted when a tall boy in the back started waving and smiling at me.  Wow!  Kids change a LOT between first grade and high school, and I almost didn’t recognize this young man.  And I immediately was so proud of him for being involved in something like show choir!  I never would have guessed he would try something like this–but he was clearly having a very good time on stage.

As the music started and the kids swung into action, I was torn as to which direction to watch.  I love those show choir performances and can’t get enough of watching the kids show their talent–but my attention was continually diverted to the kids in my class.  When the first notes started, my kids sat up straight and were transfixed by what they saw.  I watched a few kids swaying to the beat and a few others who stared intently at the choir members dancing in the very front.  One girl’s mouth hung open while another had a smile that stretched across her whole face.  They were spellbound.

I love this assembly.  I love talking to my kids about what they can do with music and school activities when they are bigger.  Today’s conversations following the performance were no different.  Two of the high school students ran over and gave me hugs–which gave me the chance to tell my class that they had once been sitting on the gym floor where they were, watching the Big Kids perform–and now look at them!  One of my young students pulled at my arm to tell me that she was going to ask and ask her dad if he would take her to that when she was older.  When I told her that those kids belonged to show choir AT SCHOOL, her eyes popped!  She thought it must be some sort of a special club from parts unknown that you must join and travel to practices.  That was nothing compared to the group of students who eagerly told me the names of the famous actors and musicians that they thought they spotted among the singers and dancers.  They were so amazed by the performance that they were convinced this was a professional tour of some kind.  Maybe the best part was watching some of my kids who don’t always see people who look like them take careful note of the amazing singing and dancing of this diverse group of  role models on stage.  No doubt it made a huge impact on them to see what fun this very talented group of high school students have performing together.

Show Choir Elementary School Tour is the best assembly of the year as far as I’m concerned.  It is all joy, all the way around and at the end hopefully there are many small students who have been inspired with a new goal and dream for themselves that involves making great music with friends.

2 comments

  1. Lisa · March 30, 2017

    I love this blog! I wish that I could have seen the look on your little ones faces. It was a wonderful show 🙂 The kids worked so hard this season.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Norah · March 30, 2017

    What a wonderful experience for all, including you seeing what became of those children in your class so many years ago.

    Like

Leave a comment