In the Queue

imageWe had a great conversation about books this morning.  My second graders are getting more and more comfortable with talking about their reading choices.  Some are avid readers who don’t need a whole lot of advice on finding the perfect read, while others are really struggling to get away from “fake reading” and find a book that they want to read cover to cover.

One by one, they shared insights about their characters and told their classmates about what was happening in their books.  One of my hopes for my reluctant readers is to get them interested in a book series so they might really get to know some characters and gain some traction with further reading.  I thought I had made progress with one of my girls by giving her a new “Owl Diaries” book to try.  She’s been a tough sell lately, so I was hoping this book series might appeal to her.  She stayed behind as the other kids went to their seats to confide in me that she actually did like the book in her hand more than she thought she would.  In fact, she planned on reading the whole thing.

I asked her if she thought she might like to read other stories with the same characters.

“Yep,” she answered.  “I think I’m going to rent the whole season.”

Ok…well, you’ve got to start somewhere!  I guess maybe a compare/contrast minilesson between Netflix and series books might be in order…

 

2 comments

  1. franmcveigh · October 18, 2017

    Thanks for introducing me to the “Owl Diaries” and the “Branches” books. Great series for kiddos. Love this! Series and season – well, three sounds are the same. A bit of M, S but not much V . . . ❤

    Kids still say the darnedest things!

    Like

  2. marilynyung · October 18, 2017

    Hahaha! I guess if Netflix is in her vocabulary and she somehow connects it to books, that’s a good thing, right?!

    Like

Leave a comment