Welcoming Committee

imageLast week we began our life science unit with the arrival and observation of mealworms.  I have a reputation for not being a big fan of the creepy crawly creatures of the world, so it was not a surprise that I had to work up some enthusiasm for unpacking and arranging for the care and feeding of  a couple hundred mealworms.  I felt proud of myself for keeping a smile on my face while giving directions and watching the students put their own two mealworms in vials with wheat bran and a bit of sweet potato.  I knew they would be fascinated with the idea of caring for them, but I didn’t really expect them to get too attached.  After all, most of them were as wary as I was about the wiggling little wormy creatures.  They are…not adorable.

However, in the middle of our clean up I looked up to find about a third of my class huddled in the back of the room, moving slowly in a group and whispering amongst themselves.

“Hey!  We need to get cleaned up.  What are you doing back there?” I asked.

“We’ll be right back.  We’re just giving Harold and Jonathan a tour of the room so they know where they’ll be living…” was the answer.

Harold.  And Jonathan.

A “tour of the room”.

Welcome to the family…

 

3 comments

  1. franmccrackin · March 4, 2018

    OMG too cute!
    I am an elementary science teacher, dealing with lots of not-so-lovable living creatures, so your post really speaks to me. I appreciate the reminder of how much our students care. It is a valuable reminder. What a perfect small moment to capture and remember!

    Like

  2. msajj@mchsi.com · March 4, 2018

    LOL ~Never a,dull moment❣️💫

    Like

  3. arjeha · March 4, 2018

    Making their new charges feel comfortable. Love this.

    Like

Leave a comment