A Wrinkle in Family Time

imageShe gave me books.  Many books.  Birthdays, Christmas, sometimes just because.  Usually they were books I hadn’t heard of, and at first I thought they weren’t books I would have chosen on my own.  But they almost always turned out to be favorites that I read and reread.  One of those books was “A Wrinkle in Time” (along with its sequels).  I remember the delicious feeling of falling into the story, immersed in the wonder of it all.  The joy of discovering the story of Meg, Calvin, and Charles Wallace was all because my aunt shared it with me.

Last night I took my nephew and niece to see the new Wrinkle in Time movie and watched firsthand as they became immersed in the story of the Murrays.  My nephew whispered question after question as the movie progressed, trying to figure out all the wonders that he saw.  It didn’t take long before he asked if I still had my book, and it didn’t take long for me to hand it to him.  Several times today I found him flipping through the pages, reading chapter headings and skimming the text.  He can’t wait to dive in and read it cover to cover.

Aunt to aunt…passing stories on and on.  It’s the greatest feeling to share something I loved so much myself.

4 comments

  1. msajj@mchsi.com · March 16, 2018

    You are such a great Auntie❣️Precious memories for all of you❣️

    Like

  2. The K · March 16, 2018

    I didn’t have the aunt you had, but I do aspire to be that aunt, myself! Love to introduce my nieces and nephews to new books 🙂

    Like

  3. wahooteacher · March 16, 2018

    Your slice reminded me of the first time I read A Wrinkle In Time:) I remember being lost in the story and was so thankful for the books that followed that first story! I love that you’re now introducing your niece and nephew to these books!

    Like

  4. bjdonaldson · March 16, 2018

    A Wrinkle in Time is such a classic. I love it. Sometimes, in this more modern day, it is difficult to get kids to try some of the “old” titles. Good for you for inspiring your nephew to read it. How was the movie?

    Like

Leave a comment