Buggy Standards

imageI’m still in the middle of Bugville with this life science unit.  I managed to handle the mealworm habitat.  It wasn’t too terrible.  I just had to partially fill a tub with bran, slice in some sweet potato, and add mealworms.  (The “add mealworms” part was a LITTLE dicey, but I got it done.)  I lucked out with the second “life science item” because it was a packet of Brassica seeds.  Whew!  I enthusiastically led the class in adding soil to cups, tucking in the tiny seeds, and adding water.  It didn’t even matter that they also required this intricate structure of PVC tubes and a hanging light–because they stayed still and didn’t wriggle around, like mealworms.

But now we have the milkweed bugs.  Apparently the usual accomodations are not quite to their liking.  They require more amenities.  I can’t just toss them a sweet potato and hope they are happy.  So now we are busy building them homes fit for bug royalty.

They don’t just need a bit of water–they get a water fountain.  They eat sunflower seeds, but they must be hung up high, wrapped in a sweet little net.  And they get a fluffy little ball of cotton that is suspended halfway up the straw.  And did I mention that all of these items then are precariously balanced diagonally in a large baggie?  The baggie must then be hung in a not-too-warm, not-too-cold, not-in-direct-sunlight sort of place.  (And my requirement:  not-too-able-to-be-messed-with-or-knocked-down-by-squirmy-nosy-second graders.)

I was relieved to find out that we could stop there.  They don’t require a built-in library, a hot tub, or an inground pool.  They didn’t ask for further appliances, workout equipment, or on-site laundry.  I was afraid we might need to hire staff, but apparently they are self sufficient once we install their water fountain.  I’m considering charging them for home association dues, but I don’t want to press my luck.  They might insist on becoming a gated community, and I don’t have resources for that.  (Although my Dickens Christmas village does have some tiny fencing…)

I think we get silkworms next.  I’m afraid to look ahead to see what accomodations they prefer.  But just in case, I’m going to look into small mortagage loans.

 

2 comments

  1. msajj@mchsi.com · March 28, 2018

    Kathy ~ you brighten my day🌷🌈💫🌞

    Like

  2. franmcveigh · March 28, 2018

    A water fountain? Art work? A vehicle? A chauffeur?
    Your critters are needy?
    I think they need a job!

    Like

Leave a comment