Sunday Naps…Then and Now

imageSunday naps when I was growing up…

  • Meant for my parents, not for me
  • Excruciating and endless enforced quiet time
  • Always resulted in sibling wars
  • Always resulted in angry un-napped parents
  • Always a staple of Sunday life at home

Sunday naps as an adult…

  • Luxurious, and definitely meant for me
  • Best and deepest sleep of the week
  • Always something to look forward to
  • Always resulting in refreshed outlook
  • Always a staple of Sunday life at home

Sunday in my home was a day of rest.  I remember how hard my parents tried to get that rest after a busy week of work, and how impossible it was with my brother and I in the basement throwing toys at each other.  I never understood why it was so important to them that they have the opportunity for that quiet time to themselves…until I grew up.  Let me just say that now I see the value in a marvelous Sunday nap!   (And I owe them a long-overdue apology for the many Sunday naps that I ruined…)

 

6 comments

  1. mathcoachslicer · March 7, 2016

    I not only take a Sunday nap, I also enjoy a Saturday nap as well. I love my weekend naps. The perfect way to sum up the concept of a nap in the eyes of the child and the adult.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vilma Manahan · March 7, 2016

    Only we will realized the importance of what we were told when we are old. That is so true. I refused to take naps in the afternoon when I was asked to. Now, I crave and look forward to these peaceful moments in my bed.

    Like

  3. msjailew · March 7, 2016

    My Sunday too was one of rest. How I treasure the very thing I resisted as a child. I like the bulleted lists, I’m going to have to show that to my students.

    Like

  4. Dana Murphy · March 7, 2016

    I took a nap yesterday for the first time in months and it was glorious.

    Like

  5. Kristi Lonheim (@lonheim) · March 7, 2016

    Life is all about perspective, isn’t it?! I am glad you were able to get rest (and get perspective on why it mattered to your parents.)

    Like

  6. Erika Victor · March 7, 2016

    I am a nap lover too and died a little death when my younger son gave them up before he was 2. Since I live alone I enjoy an afternoon nap many a Sunday. I love your then and now comparison.

    Like

Leave a comment