Small Slicer

imageI had the chance to play with my nephew today, which is always a treat.  He is a first grader and lives about an hour and a half from my house.  He has a huge imagination and calls himself my “book friend” because we both love reading together.  We make the most of our time together and play hard!

Today as he was playing with his robot toy, it started moving around on its own, without anyone holding the remote.  He reacted with surprise, joy, and a good dose of fear!  He turned on a second toy (a remote control dinosaur) and again to his frightened delight, the dinosaur’s eyes turned red and it seemed to chase him directly across the room without its remote as if it had a mind of its own.

He circled the toys from a distance, exclaiming that no one was going to believe that they had come to life.  He said it was just like the stories he had read in his books had suddenly come true–and then his eyes lit up, he ran out of the room and came back with his journal and a pen.  He sat right down at the table and said “I just have to write down the story of this so I remember it forever and everybody knows what happened here!”

So without evening realizing it, he wrote down his own Slice of Life story…

I could write all sorts of things about how proud I am that he writes down his memories, how sharing his words is powerful for him, and how absolutely cool it is that he sees himself as a writer…but all I can think is how much I love my time with that sweet boy!

So here is his Slice to go right along with my Slice:

image

(“The Moment the Robot Came Alive”.  The day was cold.  Andrew and Aunt Kathy were hanging it out then suddenly the robot dinosaur came alive.  He tried to kill us until he went off.  The End.)

Okay, I love that he said  we were “hanging it out”.  And for the record, I think Andrew and I would both feel safer if the robot dinosaur spent the night out in the garage…

 

 

 

7 comments

  1. caroline524 · March 20, 2016

    I love how you included your nephew in this slice. It’s never too early to begin slicing! Great Idea.

    Like

  2. janefhelms · March 20, 2016

    Great adventures for the two of you! And yes, I vote that ALL of the robots spend the night in the garage… just in case!

    Like

  3. Kristi Lonheim (@lonheim) · March 20, 2016

    Not just your reading buddy, but also your writing buddy! What a fun time.

    Like

  4. Erika Victor · March 20, 2016

    Sweetness! What fun to have such a special relationship with your nephew. Great that you captured his slice too. It must have been quite scary!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. beckymusician · March 20, 2016

    Great story! A double slice. And a chance to encourage a young writer!

    Like

  6. franmcveigh · March 20, 2016

    Simply beautiful! Andrew AND Aunt Kathy – Reading, writing, AND playing together! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Elizabeth Moore · March 21, 2016

    Adorable! Two slices in one!

    Like

Leave a comment