Suspension of Belief

imageI am hosting a student today in my classroom who is on in-school suspension.  I tried to get him settled quietly without a big fuss, because my second graders don’t need to discuss the fine points of the kind of behavior that lands you in suspension.

I told the kids that N would be joining us for the day.  I explained that as a consequence of his choices last week, he needed to do his work in another classroom.  I could tell that I didn’t explain the situation very clearly though,  because I got the following questions…

Is he the winner?

Did he get a promotion?

Did he choose us?

Clearly, my students consider themselves to be some sort of prize.  They will be dismayed to know that he was sent to us as part of his punishment, because they are too awesome to be a punishment.  I think I’ll just let them think that for a few more hours…

 

5 comments

  1. carolmcbroom · March 5, 2018

    Ahh…”did he win?” Precious. I work with middle school students, so this seems so foreign to me. When our students get suspended, everyone knows. This is a nice little slice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thelifeofamomteacherandwife · March 5, 2018

    Ha the questions that arise from our students! How do you begin to explain this situation? I never thought to place a student in with another class. Our students would think, like your class, this is a reward not a punishment. How did the student feel about being in your class as opposed to being isolated?

    Like

    • kathyschuitema · March 5, 2018

      He seems to be fine with joining our class for the day. He is a quiet guy anyway. He is working hard on his assignments and asking politely when he needs something.

      Like

  3. msajj@mchsi.com · March 5, 2018

    🤦🏼‍♀️ Your class must be made up of ♦️🃏❣️💕

    Like

  4. franmcveigh · March 7, 2018

    A great environment for any student – glad that he was not a disruption. . . I can just see their curiosity! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment