King of Useless Information

imageIn nearly every class, there is a King (or Queen) of Useless Information.  You know this kiddo…usually someone who likes to have positive attention from adults and needs a little extra TLC in each day.  In the quest for excuses to approach the teacher and have a conversation, my King searches his mind for something (anything) to say.  Often he resorts to simply asking for a drink of water or to be excused to the bathroom.  But during the remainder of the day…he is forced to approach me with Useless Information in order to have that little check-in and get a smile.  His comments are always delivered with an air of importance, like he is making a Big Announcement.

“I tied my shoe.”

“I’m having cold lunch today.” (He has cold lunch every day.)

“I can still write with this pencil.”

“Sometimes we have recess.”

Sometimes his Useless Information makes me smile.  Sometimes it makes me want to rip my ears off.  But, realizing he comes over to tell me random things because he just wants a little reassurance and attention, I try to look interested and send him away with a smile.

Because I know…he’ll be back shortly with more.

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. aggiekesler · March 6, 2018

    We all have those kids! Kudos to you for showing compassion rather than annoyance. My favorite line…’(he has a cold lunch everyday)’ 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Suzanne · March 6, 2018

    I love that you named this kid! They are in each class but I thing they only reveal themselves fully to teachers who care enough to let them! And sometimes we do have recess! You made me smile.

    Like

Leave a comment