Old Lady Stuff

imageI was listening to a podcast in the car this afternoon when the host was joking about the items in her purse and how they reflected her (ahem!) aging process.  I laughed along for a minute, then grimaced as she listed her purse’s contents…

A bag of Hall’s cough drops

Reading glasses

A coin purse stuffed with pennies and nickels

Massive quantities (or multiple packages) of tissues

That was all I heard before I switched the podcast over to some really youthful loud radio music.  That was hitting home a little too closely!

I’m going home to try to restore my purse to a previous version of itself…but I might hide the reading glasses somewhere at the bottom!

 

 

7 comments

  1. macrush53 · March 18, 2018

    Yep. It’s amazing what is carried in our purses.

    Like

  2. Joy Bakken · March 18, 2018

    Oh, what a fun post! I could see your smile fading away as the podcast progressed. Your vivid use of language helped me understand how you were feeling. “I laughed along for a minute, then grimaced…” Great slice!

    Like

  3. mrssurridge · March 18, 2018

    Ha! What a great post! It’s horrifying to know we can see ourselves in something with “aging” as the topic. Smart move to change the channel.

    Like

  4. Brian Kissel (@btkissel) · March 18, 2018

    This is such a great post–full of voice and fun! As a man, I don’t have a purse, but my wife does. And anytime I have to find something in it, I should be holding a treasure map. It’s like a bottomless pit of garbage. I don’t know how she stands it! haha

    Like

  5. onathought · March 18, 2018

    Loved the tone of this slice. I’ve been carrying just a wallet lately…but then my pockets have all the other stuff. 🙂

    Like

  6. karpenglish · March 18, 2018

    Haha! I periodically look in my purse for a lesson that I teach for The Things I Carried, and there are always a lot of odd things in there. For example, right now I carry a bag of “cats and rocks” everywhere as my son’s emergency entertainment. And yes, that is a bag of shiny polished rocks and small plastic cats. 😀 I had never thought about my purse showing my age though. Ugh!

    Like

  7. franmcveigh · March 19, 2018

    Well, did they give you the alternative young hip choices? Such a need for things like hand sanitizer. Maybe it goes in a bag permanently in the car . . . but then you need similar items in the classroom! RATS! no easy solution!
    🙂

    Like

Leave a comment